# **CFP: HotStorage'24 Submission site is now open:**

https://hotstorage24.hotcrp.com/

The **16th ACM Workshop on Hot Topics in Storage and File Systems** (HotStorage'24) will take place July 8th – 9th, 2024 at the Hyatt Regency Santa Clara in Santa Clara, CA, USA. The workshop is sponsored by ACM and its proceedings will appear in the ACM Digital Library. The workshop will precede the <u>18th USENIX Symposium on Operating Systems Design and Implementation</u> (OSDI) and the <u>USENIX Annual Technical Conference</u> (ATC).

#### **Important Dates**

- Paper submissions due: March 22, 2024 (Friday), 11:59 pm AoE
- Notification to authors: May 13, 2024 (Monday), 11:59 pm AoE
- Final papers due: June 1, 2024 (Saturday), 11:59 pm AoE

### **Topics of Interest**

HotStorage'24 welcomes innovative submissions in the broad areas of storage, data management, data applications, and cross-disciplinary topics that relate to these. There are many topics covered, including, but not limited to:

- Application- and workloadspecific storage
- Archival and backup storage
- Caching, tiering, and replication
- Cloud storage
- Disaggregated and distributed storage
- Energy-efficient storage

- File systems
- Flash/SSD
- Key-value and NoSQL stores
- Memory-centric storage systems
- Mobile and edge device (sensors, home, and IoT, etc.) storage
- New storage hardware (CXL, DPUs, persistent memory)
- Next generation storage (DNA, glass)
- Performance modeling and prediction for storage
- Programming models and compilers for storage
- Quality of service for storage
- Security and privacy of storage
- Storage reliability, erasure coding
- Storage systems for ML and applying ML to storage systems

#### **Submission Instructions**

Submissions must be no longer than five (5) two-column pages excluding references and should be submitted electronically via the submission form at <a href="https://hotstorage24.hotcrp.com/">https://hotstorage24.hotcrp.com/</a>.

Indicating Paper Type. Authors must indicate one of two paper types in both the submission and on HotCRP: Position or Regular. Paper titles should be prefixed by their type in the submission. For example, "Position: XYZ". Position titles should explicitly state and argue for a position; the more interesting or forward-looking the position, the better the paper is a match for HotStorage. Position papers may be used to put forward a vision for storage systems. Regular papers might contain a new and interesting result that is at an early stage and not yet ready for a conference submission.

Papers should be submitted electronically as a PDF. All text and figures must fit within a 7"x9" text block, centered on the page, using two columns with .33 inches of separation. The paper should be typeset using a 10-point font (Times New Roman or similar) with a 12-point (single-spaced) leading.

Please follow <u>paper formatting instructions</u>. The author kit, which contains the Latex style and template, <u>is available here</u>. Please ensure that your paper satisfies all the above requirements for content and formatting before submission; if you have a question about any of these issues, please email the program chairs <u>chairs 24@hotstorage.org</u>.

For additional submission guidelines, please refer to <a href="https://www.hotstorage.org/2024/cfp.html">https://www.hotstorage.org/2024/cfp.html</a>.

By submitting your article to an ACM Publication, you are hereby acknowledging that you and your co-authors are subject to all <u>ACM Publications Policies</u>, including ACM's new <u>Publications Policy on Research Involving Human Participants and Subjects</u>. Alleged violations of this policy or any ACM Publications Policy will be investigated by ACM and may result in a full retraction of your paper, in addition to other potential penalties, as per ACM Publications Policy.

Please ensure that you and your co-authors <u>obtain an ORCID ID</u>, so you can complete the publishing process for your accepted paper. ACM has been involved in ORCID from the start and we have recently made a <u>commitment to collect ORCID IDs from all of our published authors</u>. The collection process has started and will roll out as a requirement throughout 2022. We are committed to improve author discoverability, ensure proper attribution and contribute to ongoing community efforts around name normalization; your ORCID ID will help in these efforts.

## **Conference Organizers**

Program Chairs		General Chairs	
		Janki Bhimani, Florida International University	
André Brinkmann, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz		Yue Cheng, University of Virginia	
Program Committee			
John Bent, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University Michio Honda, University of Edinburgh Dalit Naor, College of Tel-Aviv Gala Yadgar, Technion Haifa Philip Shilane, Dell Aishwarya Ganesan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Vasily Tarasov, IBM Research	Hossein Assadi, Sharif University Sarah Neuwirth, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz Floretina Popovici, Google Zhichao Cao, Arizona State University Ram Alagappan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Lukas Rupprecht, Databricks Youjip Won, Korea Advanced Institute of		Bryan Kim, Syracuse University Angelos Bilas, University of Crete Myoungsoo Jung, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology Siying Dong, Meta Suli Yang, Google Kan Wu, Google Matias Bjorling, Western Digital Jayashree Mohan, Microsoft Research Javier Gonzalez, Samsung Jooyoung Hwang, Samsung Eitan Yaakobi, Technion Haifa Jingyuan Zhang, ByteDance
Publication Chair	Publicity Chairs		Registration Chair and Treasurer
Jingyuan Zhang, ByteDance	Lei Pan, <i>IBM Research</i> Adnan Maruf, <i>Missouri State University</i>		Travis Janssen, IBM Research
Sponsorship Chairs	Local Chair		Web Chairs
Xing Lin, <i>LinkedIn</i> Pratik Mishra, <i>AMD</i>	Kan Wu, <i>Google</i>		Rui Yang, <i>University of Virginia</i> Zhaoyuan Su, <i>University of Virginia</i>
Steering Committee			
Marcos Aguilera, VMware Anirudh Badam, Microsoft Angela Demke Brown, University of Toronto Vijay Chidambaram, University of Texas at Austin and VMware Research	Ashvin Goel, Universit Sudarsun Kannan, Rutg Xiaosong Ma, Qatar Co Institute, HBKU Sam H. Noh, Virginia To Daniel Peek, Meta Erik Riedel, ITRenew	gers University omputing Research Tech	Philip Shilane, Dell Nisha Talagala, Pyxeda AI Youjip Won, KAIST (Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology) Gala Yadgar, TechnionIsrael Institute of Technology Erez Zadok, Stony Brook University