[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[HTCondor-users] HPDC Award: Call for Nominations

[Apologies if you got multiple copies of this email. If you'd like to opt out of these
announcements, information on how to unsubscribe is available at the
bottom of this email.]


HPDC Achievement Award 2020

In 2012, HPDC established an annual achievement award, which is presented
to an individual who has made long-lasting, influential contributions to
the foundations or practice of the field of high-performance parallel and
distributed computing (HPDC). These contributions may include one or more
of the following:

- conceptual advances that have influenced the design or operation
  of HPDC systems or applications;
- innovative techniques or tools for the design or analysis
  of HPDC systems or applications;
- the design, implementation, and deployment of
  innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications;
- the analysis of innovative (components of) HPDC systems or applications.

In selecting the achievement award recipient, the Award Selection Committee
will place particular emphasis on seminal contributions and a sustained
record of high impact in the field.


- 2019: Geoffrey Fox, for his foundational contributions to parallel computing,
  high-performance software, the interface between applications and systems,
  contributions to education, and outreach to underrepresented communities.
- 2018: Satoshi Matsuoka, for his pioneering research in the design,
  implementation, and application of high performance systems and software
  tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2017: David Abramson, for his pioneering research in the design,
  implementation, and application of high performance systems and software
  tools for parallel and distributed systems.
- 2016: Jack Dongarra, for his long-standing and far-reaching contributions
  in high performance linear algebra and large-scale parallel and distributed
- 2015: Ewa Deelman, for her significant influence, contributions, and
  distinguished use of workflow systems in high-performance computing.
- 2014: Rich Wolski, for pioneering and high-impact contributions to grid,
  cloud, and parallel computing.
- 2013: Miron Livny, for his significant contribution and high impact
  in the area of high-throughput computing.
- 2012: Ian Foster, for his initiative in the creation and development of
  grid computing and his significant contributions to high-performance
  distributed computing in support of the sciences. 


The award will be presented at the 29th ACM Symposium on High-Performance
Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) to be held in Stockholm from
June 23-26th, 2020.   The winner should be available to receive the award
in person and present an achievement award talk at the conference.


Candidates may nominate a colleague by sending a letter in PDF form
to dthain@xxxxxxx  The letter of nomination should be about one page
and contain:

- The nominee's current professional affiliation(s).
- A brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the
  most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
- A description of the technical contributions of the nominee
  and their significance and impact.


Nomination deadline: Monday, March 16th, 2020


Geoffrey Fox
David Irwin
Kathryn Mohror
Manish Parashar
Douglas Thain
Vladimir Vlassov

The award selection committee is chaired by a member of the HPDC steering
committee and includes the General Chair(s) and the Program Committee Chair(s)
of the current HPDC conference, and the previous year's award winner.
An award committee member cannot be a nominator or be selected as the winner.