[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[Condor-users] CFP: The 20th International ACM Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing (HPDC) 2011

Call For Papers

The 20th International ACM Symposium on 
High-Performance Parallel and Distributed Computing

San Jose, California, June 8-11, 2011

The ACM International Symposium on High-Performance Parallel and Distributed 
Computing is the premier conference for presenting the latest research on the 
design, implementation, evaluation, and use of parallel and distributed systems 
for high end computing. The 20th installment of HPDC will take place in 
San Jose, California, in the heart of Silicon Valley. This year, HPDC is 
affiliated with the ACM Federated Computing Research Conference, consisting of 
fifteen leading ACM conferences all in one week. HPDC will be held on June 9-11 
(Thursday through Saturday) with affiliated workshops taking place on June 8th 

Submissions are welcomed on all forms of high performance parallel and 
distributed computing, including but not limited to clusters, clouds, grids, 
utility computing, data-intensive computing, multicore and parallel computing. 
All papers will be reviewed by a distinguished program committee, with a strong 
preference for rigorous results obtained in operational parallel and distributed 
systems. All papers will be evaluated for correctness, originality, potential 
impact, quality of presentation, and interest and relevance to the conference.

In addition to traditional technical papers, we also invite experience papers. 
Such papers should present operational details of a production high end system 
or application, and draw out conclusions gained from operating the system or 
application. The evaluation of experience papers will place a greater weight on 
the real-world impact of the system and the value of conclusions to future 
system designs.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
# Applications of parallel and distributed computing.
# Systems, networks, and architectures for high end computing.
# Parallel and multicore issues and opportunities.
# Virtualization of machines, networks, and storage.
# Programming languages and environments.
# I/O, file systems, and data management.
# Data intensive computing.
# Resource management, scheduling, and load-balancing.
# Performance modeling, simulation, and prediction.
# Fault tolerance, reliability and availability.
# Security, configuration, policy, and management issues.
# Models and use cases for utility, grid, and cloud computing.

Authors are invited to submit technical papers of at most 12 pages in PDF 
format, including all figures and references. Papers should be formatted in the 
ACM Proceedings Style and submitted via the conference web site. Accepted 
papers will appear in the conference proceedings, and will be incorporated into 
the ACM Digital Library.

Papers must be self-contained and provide the technical substance required for 
the program committee to evaluate the paper's contribution. Papers should 
thoughtfully address all related work, particularly work presented at previous 
HPDC events. Submitted papers must be original work that has not appeared in 
and is not under consideration for another conference or a journal. See the ACM 
Prior Publication Policy for more details.

We invite proposals for workshops affiliated with HPDC to be held on Wednesday, 
June 8th. For more information, see the Call for Workshops at 

Important Dates
Workshop Proposals Due          1 October 2010
Technical Papers Due:           17 January 2011
PAPER DEADLINE EXTENDED:        24 January 2011 (No further extensions!)
Author Notifications:           28 February 2011
Final Papers Due:               24 March 2011
Conference Dates:               8-11 June 2011

General Chair
Barney Maccabe, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Program Chair
Douglas Thain, University of Notre Dame

Workshops Chair
Mike Lewis, Binghamton University

Local Arrangements Chair
Nick Wright, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Publicity Chairs
Alexandru Iosup, Delft University
John Lange, University of Pittsburgh
Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology
Yong Zhao, Microsoft

Program Committee
Kento Aida, National Institute of Informatics
Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit
Roger Barga, Microsoft
Jim Basney, NCSA
John Bent, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Ron Brightwell, Sandia National Laboratories
Shawn Brown, Pittsburgh Supercomputer Center
Claris Castillo, IBM
Andrew A. Chien, UC San Diego and SDSC
Ewa Deelman, USC Information Sciences Institute
Peter Dinda, Northwestern University
Scott Emrich, University of Notre Dame
Dick Epema, TU-Delft
Gilles Fedak, INRIA
Renato Figuierdo, University of Florida
Ian Foster, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory
Gabriele Garzoglio, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Rong Ge, Marquette University
Sebastien Goasguen, Clemson University
Kartik Gopalan, Binghamton University
Dean Hildebrand, IBM Almaden
Adriana Iamnitchi, University of South Florida
Alexandru Iosup, TU-Delft
Keith Jackson, Lawrence Berkeley
Shantenu Jha, Louisiana State University
Daniel S. Katz, University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory
Thilo Kielmann, Vrije Universiteit
Charles Killian, Purdue University
Tevfik Kosar, Louisiana State University
John Lange, University of Pittsburgh
Mike Lewis, Binghamton University
Barney Maccabe, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Grzegorz Malewicz, Google
Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Jarek Nabrzyski, University of Notre Dame
Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
Beth Plale, Indiana University
Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology
Philip Rhodes, University of Mississippi
Philip Roth, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
Martin Swany, University of Delaware
Jon Weissman, University of Minnesota
Dongyan Xu, Purdue University
Ken Yocum, UCSD
Yong Zhao, Microsoft

Steering Committee
Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit
Andrew A. Chien, UC San Diego and SDSC
Peter Dinda, Northwestern University
Ian Foster, Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago
Dennis Gannon, Microsoft
Salim Hariri, University of Arizona
Dieter Kranzlmueller, Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen
Manish Parashar, Rutgers University
Karsten Schwan, Georgia Tech
Jon Weissman, University of Minnesota (Chair)

Ioan Raicu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Computer Science Department
Illinois Institute of Technology
10 W. 31st Street
Stuart Building, Room 237D
Chicago, IL 60616
Cel:   1-847-722-0876
Email: iraicu@xxxxxxxxxx
Web:   http://www.cs.iit.edu/~iraicu/